Sketch book non self portrait

I found this postcard at the Getty Museum last February and I was struck by how much this young woman looks like me… though perhaps a younger, gentler, more demure version of me.

I put the card it in a pile of things and forgot about it for a while. When I stumbled across it again I decided I might as well put it somewhere safe. Since I have stacks of my old sketchbooks, it’s pretty much guaranteed to never be lost.

Of course I needed to do a bit of embellishing around the edges. I’m especially fond of the feather texture across the top. This is nothing special, but since this is a process blog, I wanted to prove that I’ve been up to something -even if it’s just feather doodles.

 

 

The painting is Louise-Antoinette Feuardent painted by Jean-Francois Millet in 1841. I’m not a huge fan of his work, but I cannot dispute his masterful skill.

Leave a Reply

