For the Love of Knitting: Guest Post by Greenwoman

My wonderful friend Michelle and I are exchanging our thoughts and our blogs for the day. You will love her -she’s my favorite partner in crime. We spend hours inventing, laughing, occasionally cackling, plotting books, comics, knit goods, and sometimes we just stare at the wall together and appreciate that we survived another day.

She usually posts at her magnificent Greenwoman blog, but today she will grace my artland with her thoughts on love and knitting. And if you want to read my thoughts about why I draw hearts, please visit her site for my ponderings.

.

So, one of the things that Miss Mouse and I do together is knit, and look at knitting patterns, and make squealy noises, and say things like “That pattern is pretty great, but it’d be so much better if _______.” What better topic for my guest post on her blog than a post about my love of knitting?

Dante

And I DO love knitting. I fell in love with it about 6 years ago, and my love has only grown deeper over time. And since I love lists almost as much as I love knitting, I will now give you my official list of reasons why knitting rocks. I’m not going to bother with things like “creative” and “pretty” because that kind of goes without saying. These are my personal reasons–don’t you feel privileged to be reading them? I thought so.

1. Texture. I am a texture freak. One of the first things I do when I see something I like is touch it. No matter how good something looks, if it doesn’t feel good too I’m over it. And you don’t get much more textured than yarn. The deliciousness of knitting begins before you even start a project. It begins when you enter a yarn store, because–get this–they let you touch the yarn. They don’t even charge you. I imagine they might make you buy the yarn if you get too intimate with it, so I always try to exercise restraint. SO MANY TEXTURES. So much touching. It’s a beautiful thing.

Eithnie pouch

2. I have this streak of . . . something . . . that really enjoys getting all picky and fussy and precise. And knitting, for all its squooshy fuzzy goodness, has an element of stackenblochen that satisfies my type A streak. Swatching, deciding which increase or decrease method is best for my pattern, tweaking the details on a cable motif, are all very satisfying. Far more satisfying than cleaning my house, which is why my knitting is tidy and my house is . . . lived in. (But don’t ask me about my knitting SUPPLIES.)

3. Simplicity. This sounds weird after my previous rant about swatching and tweaking, but the fact remains that knitting is a simple art. Not because it is without challenges, but because everything you do with knitting is really just a combination of a few simple stitches. The most complex lace or cable is still just variations on knitting and purling and moving those two stitches around on your needles in different ways. The supplies are likewise simple: they’re low tech. You can carry them around with you in a bag, and if the power goes out you can still knit if there is daylight or candle light or a lantern.

Greenwood

4. Versatility. It’s hard to believe the variety of things you can produce with sticks and strings and knit and purl. You can create anything from a washcloth to a knitted skeleton to a mohair willy warmer (yes, it really is what you think. Click the link if you dare.). This means that knitting never gets old. You can just take it in new directions forever. One of these days I’m going to be bored, and I’m going to knit a drill cozy as a gag gift for the hubster. A day-glo orange drill cozy with pom poms. Because I can.

5. Comfort. Knitting is a comforting act for me. A simple pattern is meditative and soothing: a more intricate pattern helps me exert control over SOMETHING when my life is out of control because it’s full of teenagers and cats and uncooperative weather. And knitting CREATES comfort. A soft, warm scarf or blanket or mittens or a sweater or a squishy toy or a goofy plot bunny. Though I cannot attest to the comfort of the willy warmer. There are some things the hubster will not wear–and I have no willy of my own.

6. Community. Generally speaking, knitters are cool people to talk to. I don’t know every knitter everywhere, but in my experience so far knitters tend to be generous and helpful, and have a good sense of humor. Not to mention being creative and smart enough to read a pattern and fix mistakes. And finally:

7. Sheep. ‘Nuff said.

SHEEP! -image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Because Dante deserves a full size image.

Michelle's amazing Goddess pattern

Michelle is a writer, knitter, gardener, radical homemaker. She shares a tumbledown acre in Oregon with her partner and stepchildren, three neurotic cats and a whole pile of ornery chickens. I can personally attest to their orneriness.

4 thoughts on “For the Love of Knitting: Guest Post by Greenwoman

  1. What an awesome post! Michelle, you know I worship your knitting abilities. It’s something I’ve always wanted to try (and still might one day) but if nothing more, I enjoy hearing about other people’s passion for the craft. :) BTW, Guido was jumping up and down like his britches were on fire when he saw Dante. Do those two have a history? Heh.

    P.S. Knitted skeleton=EPIC coolness

  2. Pingback: Summer of Bloggerly Love: Guest Post by MarthaMouse | Greenwoman

Leave a Reply

