Spring

I seem to be sketching a lot of flowers these days.

In this drawing, I completely violated a number of botanical rules. I’d wait and see if anyone notices… but I’m pretty sure Madeline would be the only one to see them if I didn’t mention it.

First of all, I drew a rose family flower, but instead of the standard 5 petals, I gave each blossom 6. This is a characteristic of the lily family and usually wouldn’t be paired with that type of flower center.

Also, I drew two different types of flower buds. The tight clusters could be taken straight off a blackberry vine (rose family). But I also put in some buds that look more like the morning-glory type.

.

So in the end I have one drawing and 3 different families. oops. or perhaps yay.

Leave a Reply

